Cities in Wales

Our database currently has a total of 7 Cities in Wales.

There is some ongoing dispute over the definition of 'city', consequently it's been a challenge to produce a list of Cities in Wales to please all (it's not possible!). However, this list contains those settlements which have been granted official city status via a charter from the British monarch.




1 Bangor Gwynedd
2 Cardiff Glamorgan
3 Newport Newport City
4 St Asaph (Llanelwy) Denbighshire
5 St Davids Pembrokeshire
6 Swansea Swansea
7 Wrexham Wrexham