Cities in UK (United Kingdom)

Our database currently has a total of 66 Cities in UK (United Kingdom).

There is some ongoing dispute over the definition of 'city', consequently it's been a challenge to produce a list of Cities in UK (United Kingdom) to please all (it's not possible!). However, this list contains those settlements which have been granted official city status via a charter from the British monarch.





1 Aberdeen Scotland Aberdeenshire
2 Armagh Northern Ireland County Armagh
3 Bangor Wales Gwynedd
4 Belfast Northern Ireland County Antrim
5 Birmingham England West Midlands
6 Bradford England West Yorkshire
7 Brighton and Hove England East Sussex
8 Bristol England Bristol
9 Cambridge England Cambridgeshire
10 Canterbury England Kent
11 Cardiff Wales Glamorgan
12 Carlisle England Cumbria
13 Chester England Cheshire
14 Chichester England West Sussex
15 Coventry England West Midlands
16 Derby England Derbyshire
17 Dundee Scotland Dundee
18 Durham England Durham
19 Edinburgh Scotland Edinburgh
20 Ely England Cambridgeshire
21 Exeter England Devon
22 Glasgow Scotland Glasgow
23 Gloucester England Gloucestershire
24 Hereford England Hereford and Worcester
25 Inverness Scotland Highland
26 Kingston upon Hull England East Riding of Yorkshire
27 Lancaster England Lancashire
28 Leeds England West Yorkshire
29 Leicester England Leicestershire
30 Lichfield England Staffordshire
31 Lincoln England Lincolnshire
32 Lisburn Northern Ireland County Antrim
33 Liverpool England Merseyside
34 London England London
35 Londonderry Northern Ireland County Londonderry
36 Manchester England Greater Manchester
37 Newcastle upon Tyne England Tyne and Wear
38 Newport Wales Blaenau Gwent
39 Newry Northern Ireland County Down
40 Norwich England Norfolk
41 Nottingham England Nottinghamshire
42 Oxford England Oxfordshire
43 Peterborough England Cambridgeshire
44 Plymouth England Devon
45 Portsmouth England Hampshire
46 Preston England Lancashire
47 Ripon England North Yorkshire
48 Salford England Greater Manchester
49 Salisbury England Wiltshire
50 Sheffield England South Yorkshire
51 Southampton England Hampshire
52 St Albans England Hertfordshire
53 St Asaph (Llanelwy) Wales Denbighshire
54 St Davids Wales Pembrokeshire
55 Stirling Scotland Stirlingshire
56 Stoke on Trent England Staffordshire
57 Sunderland England Tyne and Wear
58 Swansea Wales Swansea
59 Truro England Cornwall
60 Wakefield England West Yorkshire
61 Wells England Somerset
62 Westminster England London
63 Winchester England Hampshire
64 Wolverhampton England West Midlands
65 Worcester England Hereford and Worcester
66 York England North Yorkshire